Letting It All Go....

Letting it all go....


The earliest records documenting the practice and study of yoga was approximately 400 AD in India.  At that time,
an Indian philosopher by the name of Patanjali wrote the first book on record compiling all the ancient wisdom, philosophies, and teachings of yogic scholars.  This book comprising of 196 aphorisms or "sutras" has become the teaching primer on the art and science of yoga.

Yoga is defined as a union between the body, mind, and spiritual energy that unites every living organism.

Its objective for the practitioner is to use the breath and body to foster an awareness of ourselves as individuals and how we connect to the universe as a whole.  In short, it is a guide to live in peace, good health, and harmony with the greater whole.

Patanjali's Yoga Sutras is structured into a "8 Limb" system describes the inner workings of the mind.

It breaks down yoga into 8 steps:

1) Yamas:  universal morality
2) Niyama:  personal observances
3) Asana: body postures
4) Pranayama:  breathing exercises
5) Pratyahara:  control of the senses
6) Dharana:  concentration and inner awareness
7) Dhyana:  devotion; meditation on the divine
8) Samahdi:  union with the divine.

So, the next time you are practicing yoga you will know there is a greater reason behind "letting it all go."

Wendy Cahill
Tranquility Yoga Instructor

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC BY 3.0
Created with NationBuilder